• Sports

Luka Modric Golden Foot 2019

13 November 2019 - 9h00

The Golden Foot was awarded yesterday to the Croatian midfield. He becomes the 17th player to receive this award. 

A new individual award for Luka Modric. After being named best player of the 2018 World Cup, winning the Ballon d’Or and the FIFA The Best Trophy, the 34-year-old midfielder received the Golden Foot last night at the Fairmont. He became the 17th player to win this award and joined legends like Pavel Nedved, Ryan Giggs, Francesco Totti and Samuel Eto’o on the list of winners. 

An unique award 

Luka Modric will soon see his footprints join the Promenade des champions. Awarded through the suffrage of Internet users, the Golden Foot rewards a player who is still active and at least 28 years old. The special feature of this award is that football players can only receive it once. Note that Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi still do not have this award in their trophy cabinet.

Audrey Corminboeuf


Read also...

  • Sports

Vendée-Arctique-Les Sables d'Olonne race: Boris Herrmann takes the lead

10 July 2020 - 15h13

Halfway through Vendée-Arctique-Les Sables d'Olonne, the German navigator Boris Herrmann on the Seaexplorer - Yacht Club de Monaco took the lead this morning at 9:30 am CET. This triangle between…

Read more
  • Sports

Yvette Lambin-Berti: "There is no easy way for the Olympic Games"

9 July 2020 - 10h18

One year before the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, which will finally take place from July 23rd to August 8th, 2021, the Secretary-General of the Monegasque Olympic Committee (COM), also Monaco's…

Read more